Need the Breath of Life?

Need the Breath of Life?

Lucinda Secrest McDowell

Thus says the Lord God to these bones: Behold, I will cause breath to enter you, and you shall live. And I will lay sinews upon you, and will cause flesh to come upon you, and cover you with skin, and put breath in you, and you shall live, and you shall know that I am the Lord.”  Ezekiel 37.5-6 ESV

I don’t know what it feels like to die. But I have occasionally felt like “all of my bones are out of joint.” (Psalm 20.14)

Is there any hope for those in such a place?

Today’s verse is a marvelous example of God making the impossible possible when He caused mere bones to come to life.

Ezekiel was a prophet among the people of Israel who were spiritually dead. They were disobedient, desolate and divided. Restoration seemed impossible.

But in this vision, God’s power alone revived a people who had lost all hope in the flames of an enemy attack.

Are you in a similar position of wasting away or rattling around?

If so, be encouraged today that your new life depends solely on God’s breath, not the world’s battles.

He breathed and those bones lived and knew the one true Lord. Will you?

Lord, when I feel dead, help me trust the Spirit’s breath of life. Amen.

under the mercy, Cindy

This is one of my ten devotions now appearing in “Just Breathe” the brand new journal/devotional from Ellie Claire and Worthy Publishing, 2017 Click on PHOTO to order your copy!

 

 

 

 

©2017 Lucinda Secrest McDowell

My latest book, “Dwelling Places” just received the Christian Retailing Best Award for Devotional – voted by the bookselling/publishing industry professionals. I am so honored and humbled and grateful to share these words from the Word with you and many others…

Order my award-winning book  “Dwelling Places” from Amazon HERE under $10

Order my award-winning book  “Dwelling Places” from ChristianBook HERE under $10

Website/Blog www.EncouragingWords.net

NOTE: Did you enjoy this blog? If so, would you consider entering your email in the above right form and subscribing to it by email? I assure you I won’t overload your in-box, but would love to send you these ‘encouraging words’ each Wednesday. Thanks!

This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

