A Mama’s Choice

A  Mama’s Choice

by Lucinda Secrest McDowell

A few years ago my eldest daughter chose life – to become a mother. And it caused me to think back to the choice I made the day I  walked out of a Seattle courtroom as her new mother.

Do you remember when you first became a mama? Parenting is a privilege, an honor, and lifelong commitment. We are not only life-givers at the beginning, but every subsequent choice we make either gives life to our child or takes a piece of it away.

Our Heavenly Father knows all about hard choices. Though His own children had rejected Him time and time again, God always offered them a second chance – a choice: “Choose life, so that you and your children may live and that you may love the Lord Your God, listen to His voice, and hold fast to Him.”  (Deuteronomy 30.19-20)

Love Him. Follow Him. Obey Him. And the reward? Life. A full life. Who wouldn’t want that for their children?

And yet, even the best parent falters and fails. I know I have.

I entered motherhood with great desire and determination to pour love, courage, joy and hope into the boys and girls God entrusted me with for such a short time. And I meant it. So I tried to do it – with a full measure of grace and mercy.

But sometimes I made poor choices.  Have you ever chosen self over others; temper over temperance; control over release; fear over trust; loud over quiet; or settled into lethargy rather than actively respond to God? Yeah, me too.

Eventually, my ultimate choice was to parent with the grace I had received – allowing my children to learn the hard way, even to fail. To help them know that God (and I) offer second chances, actions have consequences, and choices do make a difference.

Wouldn’t you like to be a Mama who:

  • Promotes Security – assuring children they are accepted and loved, no matter what.
  • Offers Significance — helping them understand their unique gifts and leanings and then urging them to courageously pursue all God has for them.
  • Provides Strength – cultivating inner fortitude to keep going in difficult times and placing their hope in God.

Think of the ever-widening ripple effect of such a choice for life. Our children will change a future we will never see!

As I hold my grandchildren close, I believe this with all my heart.*

under the mercy, Cindy

* selected from Day 31 in “Live These Words” by Lucinda Secrest McDowell ©2014

ON SALE JULY ONLY AMAZON $12 

Website/Blog www.EncouragingWords.net

NOTE: Did you enjoy this blog? If so, would you consider entering your email in the above right form and subscribing to it by email? I assure you I won’t overload your in-box, but would love to send you these ‘encouraging words’ each Wednesday. Thanks!

This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

