Where Do I Belong?

Where Do I Belong?

Lucinda Secrest McDowell

            I read the word several times before investigating it’s meaning — FoMO. When I discovered the definition, the widespread use made sense to me.

            Fear oMissing Out.

            Added to the Oxford English Dictionary in 2013, “FoMO” is defined as “Anxiety that an exciting or interesting event may currently be happening elsewhere, often aroused by posts seen on social media.”
            Basically it is the 21st century equivalent of keeping up with the Joneses. Where is everyone and what are they doing and why don’t I belong there too?

           A recent article in Forbes elaborated:  “Thanks to social media and digital technology, we’re faced with constant comparisons of our vacations, our clothes, our relationships, our social lives, even our life choices, with those of others. Naturally, that ever-present stream of perfection leaves us feeling sub-par. You start to question and doubt yourself, thinking things like: Where does she get those amazing power outfits? My desk looks like a disaster, not a pretty Pinterest board. I wish I could afford a week in the Mediterranean on the salary I make.” 

            We have a need to feel that we actually belong. Somewhere.     

            But too often the social media posts, rather than bringing us into a place of belonging, only exacerbate our sense of lack. There is always someone who has more — more invitations, more grandchildren, and a more beautiful home decor. 
            Where do we belong in the scheme of things?

Thousands of women this year invested precious resources to experience a stadium event called “Belong.” The title alone drew many of them in, as one of the speakers elaborated on the appeal of that name “Belong”: “Because you do. Your friends do. Your neighbors do. Your colleagues do. We are setting a big table, girls. Come to us. You can trust us with the fragile hearts you love. We will hold your stories with tender hands. We are for you.” 

            I don’t know if they all found what they were looking for.

But, had these women asked, I would have said that our ultimate sense of belonging is only found in our union with Jesus Christ. In our verse today the apostle Paul writes to the new believers at Corinth “I always thank my God for you and for the gracious gifts He has given you, now that you belong to Christ Jesus.” 1 Corinthians 1.4          

What are some of those gifts? Who are some of those gifts?

As we begin to thank God for all He has given, a new sense of belonging seeps into our soul – that the reality of what we already possess in Christ is far better than the controlled posts on Facebook and elsewhere.

            We already belong. Right here with Jesus.

under the mercy, Cindy

Website/Blog www.EncouragingWords.net

NOTE: Did you enjoy this blog? If so, would you consider entering your email in the above right form and subscribing to it by email? I assure you I won’t overload your in-box, but would love to send you these ‘encouraging words’ each Wednesday. Thanks!

Order my book  “Dwelling Places” from Amazon HERE under $10

Order my book  “Dwelling Places” from ChristianBook HERE under $10

This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where Do I Belong?

  1. Betsy West says:

    Definitely hit the nail on the head! So true!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. jwilund says:

    This is so beautiful! My heart goes out to this generation who are ruled by Pinterest, Facebook and Instagram compare-itus. And I thought magazine cover models were hard enough to live up to. So thankful for the gift of belonging to Jesus and being a part of the finest family in existence — the family of God. No comparison!

Leave a Reply

