Have You Ever Been The Last One Chosen?

Have You Ever Been The Last One Chosen?

Lucinda Secrest McDowell

I was usually the last one chosen.

For sports teams during elementary school recess. Back in the day, the captains of each team would take turns choosing players. Raised hands and shouts of “Me!” echoed until they grudgingly accepted the final leftover people.

Kids like me. Chubby. Non-athletic. Slow runners.

Is it any wonder I spent much of my life silently pleading, “Choose Me?”

And then one day I realized that Jesus had. Chosen me. A gift for all to see – “You didn’t choose me. I chose you. I appointed you to go and produce lasting fruit.”John 15.16 

             Choose in the New Testament Greek is eklego, which means to “pick out or select, especially with the motivation of love and kindness.” God’s grace is a gift to all and, as we embrace it, we become a chosen one — specially selected. “He chose to love us and we must choose to love others. God has chosen us in spite of our shortcomings. Our social standing or material wealth mean nothing to him — he chooses us purely out of love. But we must choose whether or not to accept God’s offer.”

Do you realize you have been chosen? Or, are you still raising your hand and trying to get His attention by doing stuff to make yourself worthy?

One young mother struggled with trying to be like someone else in order to be chosen: “Being rejected means we have no worth. Being chosen means we have it all. So we contort ourselves in whatever impossible positions we can to make ourselves chooseable. We let go of our will, conform our lives to make others approve, and lose our personalities at the altar of being picked.” (Mary DeMuth, “Worth Living”)

But remember, another’s success does not mean my failure.

It is only when we know ourselves as Beloved that we can settle down as fully desired and chosen members of the Jesus Team. Secure. Serene. Loved. “When I write to you that, as the Beloved, we are God’s chosen ones, I mean that we have been seen by God from all eternity … long before you were born and became a part of history you existed in God’s heart. Long before your parents admired you or your friends acknowledged your gifts or your teachers, colleagues, and employers encouraged you, you were already chosen. The eyes of love had seen you as precious, as of infinite beauty, as of eternal value.” (Henri Nouwen, “Life of the Beloved”)

God says to you today, “I took you from the ends of the earth, from its farthest corners I called you. I said, ‘You are my servant’; I have chosen you and have not rejected you.(Isaiah 41.9)

You are chosen.

under the mercy, Cindy

©2017 Lucinda Secrest McDowell

Website/Blog www.EncouragingWords.net

NOTE: Did you enjoy this blog? If so, would you consider entering your email in the above right form and subscribing to it by email? I assure you I won’t overload your in-box, but would love to send you these ‘encouraging words’ each Wednesday. Thanks!

Order my book  “Dwelling Places” from Amazon HERE under $10

Order my book  “Dwelling Places” from ChristianBook HERE under $10

This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Have You Ever Been The Last One Chosen?

  1. maggierowe says:

    Oh does that bring back a memory, and not a good one either. I think teachers now are much more sensitive to how painful this was for those of us who were the unchosen back then. Thankfully it tenders our hearts to watching out for others today who may be overlooked or unseen. Thanks for the reminder, Cindy.

Leave a Reply

