Make It a Nurturing November

Make It a Nurturing November

Lucinda Secrest McDowell

November is here! Can’t you just smell the pumpkin pie and spiced apple cider? Here in New England we have already had some snow and God’s palette of colorful leaves disintegrates a bit each day, reminding us of the season’s change.

What will you do to nurture your soul for the days ahead?

nurturingnovGently the dark comes down over the wild, fair places,

The whispering glens in the hills, the open, starry spaces;

Rich with the gifts of the night, sated with questing and dreaming,

We turn to the dearest of paths where the star of the homelight is gleaming.

Lucy Maud Montgomery “November Evening”

Coming Events: GirlTalk Luncheon at America’s Keswick in Whiting New Jersey, 10-1 on Wednesday, November 9. Only $10 includes luncheon! I’m excited to be speaking on “Refuge – Dwelling in God’s Presence” and hope you will join us. Get a ticket by phoning 800.453.7942  All Details HERE!  

New Books Released – As always, I have friends who have just published new books that I highly recommend to you.

jkdfearlaunch“Not only is Jennifer Kennedy Dean one of the most excellent Bible teachers I have ever studied under, her words are absolutely clear and infinitely practical. Surrounded by a culture of fear, we often give in because of the people and situations we cannot control.  Focusing on the deep questions that consume us, “Live a Praying Life Without Fear” systematically opens up the Word of God to reveal how our prayers can actively fight fear through trust, faith, embracing God’s sovereignty and soul transformation. Interspersed with the rich insight is Jennifer’s own experience of when everything she feared actually happened… and she survived. ‘Through life inside of this fear, I found not the horrors I imagined… I found in every circumstance God took care of those things I turned over to Him. My perception of fear changed; it became less an impediment and more a gift, a lens through which God allowed me to see Him.’ I highly recommend this study – but only for worriers and silent sufferers. In other words, everyone!” ~ Lucinda Secrest McDowell

barefoot“How grateful I am to be reunited with Hannah, Meg, Mara and Charissa – my ‘friends’ in Sharon Garlough Brown’s “Sensible Shoes” series. Having already journeyed with them through seasons of growth and change, I was eager to see what this third novel, “Barefoot,” would reveal. And what a tender story ensued as these women faced both serendipitous joy and heart-wrenching sorrow. The thread of being in a supportive prayer circle is powerful in each of these books, and the valuable spiritual exercises woven throughout help us to process as well. Challenged by such things as church staff drama, child custody battles, medical diagnoses, homelessness, abuse, career choices and prodigal children, each woman’s hard inner soul work is what brings redemption and depth to the story. “Barefoot” brings us gently to the place where we know the only adequate response is to take off our shoes and stand before God on holy ground.” ~ Lucinda Secrest McDowell

lizcindy“Imagine sitting on a sofa with a wise woman as she opens her Bible and shares both deep truth and heartwarming life stories. This, my friend, is the beauty of “31 Verses to Write On Your Heart.” It’s an excellent opportunity to come alongside Liz Curtis Higgs, a phenomenal woman of God, as she oh-so-authentically reveals the power and purpose of God’s Word in her own life story. Urging us to do the same. To read the Word. Know the Word. Live the Word. Being a ‘word girl’ myself, I especially enjoyed her taking us back to the original language in order to better understand the fine points of Scripture. Thanks, Liz, for this truly delightful mixture of both inspiration and teaching. To quote Number 28, “How good is a timely word!” (Proverbs 15.23) Highly recommended!”   ~ Lucinda Secrest McDowell

overnightturkeyThanksgiving! In the coming weeks I will be blogging about Thanksgiving, but for now, I highly suggest we all make a special effort to be Grateful. Looking at the world today it would be so easy to Whine and Complain. Let’s show Christ’s grace by counting our blessings. And don’t forget to spread the joy and Give to others. And if you’re culinary challenged (as I am) you will love my Overnight Turkey recipe here. Believe me, it works and it’s delicious!

renewinstagramFinally, I’m delighted to report that Registration is now Live/Open for “reNEW – retreat for New England Writing” which I co-direct with Rachel Britton. This is an amazing community of writers and speakers (both beginning and seasoned) from all over the country who gather here in New England in the beautiful fall in order to reNEW our vision, our craft and our relationship with God. We are so excited to have faculty like Carol Kent, Christa Parrish, Tessa Afshar, Lori Roeleveld and Christa Hutchins. The dates are Oct. 6-8, 2017 in West Hartford, CT. All information at www.reNEWwriting.com

CLICK to Watch a minute of Rachel and Cindy sharing about reNEW! 

adventprintableAdvent is coming!

In fact, the first Sunday is during Thanksgiving weekend. Wouldn’t you like to have a more nurturing and peaceful November AND December? Then be sure to DOWNLOAD my FREE PRINTABLE Advent 2016 Guide listing one-word-a-day devotional from the “Shine” Advent season of my book “Dwelling Places.” Click HERE or on the photo and be sure to soak in God’s Word each day!

As November unfolds, my prayer is that you have more than enough time to spend by a quiet fire, in a creative kitchen, writing prayers in your journal or reading a fascinating book and also singing praises to God for the Many Good Gifts He gives us all. And may these practices nurture your soul and those around you…

Shall we sing together? (really concentrate on these wonderful words) “Come, ye thankful people, come. Raise the song of harvest home; All is safely gathered in, Ere the winter storms begin; God, our Maker, doth provide For our wants to be supplied; Come to God’s own temple, come, Raise the song of harvest home.” 

under the mercy, Cindy

©2016 Lucinda Secrest McDowell

Website/Blog www.EncouragingWords.net

NOTE: Did you enjoy this blog? If so, would you consider entering your email in the above right form and subscribing to it by email? I assure you I won’t overload your in-box, but would love to send you these ‘encouraging words’ each Wednesday. Thanks!

Order my new book  “Dwelling Places” from Amazon HERE

Order my new book  “Dwelling Places” from ChristianBook HERE

This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Make It a Nurturing November

  1. maggierowe says:

    This year I will try your overnight turkey for sure. (It may well be the only thing I can fix.) The LMM quote is one I have never heard before but it describes the way I remember November nights growing up in the country when my dad was gathering the harvest in. I miss New England most this time of year. Thanks for the great inspiration as always, Cindy.

    • Thanks BFF. Its super easy, just remember, no stuffing and keep lid closed. I hope you don’t have to entertain too many people off your feet. What a hard month for yall, been praying. Just found that LMM quote. Lovely eh? at school, more later. Sort of running on fumes…

  2. Kathy Cooper says:

    THanks Cindy for your encouraging words. For many years fall has just been a transition period into the Christmas season and I have not appreciated it as I should. This year the weather has been beautiful and the colors so vibrant here in New England. Today the warmth of the breeze and the smell in the air made me stop and look around! I especially liked your prayer at the end and I truly need to do some of those things and slow down, for it is only then that I will experience God’s peace and joy for me! Thanks for the reminder! Prayers for you and your family!!

Leave a Reply

