Doing Nothing in Nothing but a Robe

 Doing Nothing in Nothing but a Robe

by Lucinda Secrest McDowell

“He leads me beside still waters. He restores my soul.” —Psalm 23.2,3 NIV

Relaxing in jacuzziOf course I had to visit a Spa for the writing of my book “Refresh!” I called it ‘research’.

The truth is, I love being pampered at a Spa. And honey, we have a great one here in Connecticut that offers a fall discount package. So my three other ‘birthday buddies’ and I book it every year – girl bonding and low-key celebrating.

This past Saturday was The Day. To spend all day walking around a public place with nothing on but a white terry cloth robe. Well, at least everyone else was dressed the same way. I can’t tell you how many times I cinched my sash tightly. Just in case…

nothingbutarobeNow before you get all jealous of me, let me assure you that I deserved every single pampering minute. And so do you, actually. Whether or not we are fortunate enough to be given gift cards to a Spa, we are all made for the kind of rest and serenity inherent to such a time and place.

Did you know that SPA is a word that is actually an acronym for three Latin words  — Salus Per Aquam, which mean “health by water?” (see, I did actually do some ‘research’) While water is the genesis of this term, health is an integral ingredient. Any true Spa will focus on improving your health — physically, emotionally, mentally and yes, spiritually.

Modern Spas have their roots in the ancient towns once known for the healing powers of their mineral waters and hot springs. People would come from far away to “take the waters” and restore their health. In the Bible, the Pool of Bethesda was such a Spa and believed to be a source of healing when the waters were stirred. That’s why the lame man had lain by that pool for 38 years, hoping to ‘take the waters.’

spawaterhandsOver and over again we find in God’s Word refreshment for our soul thirst when we cry out like the psalmist, “God, You are my God; I eagerly seek You. I thirst for You; my body faints for You in a land that is dry, desolate, and without water.” Psalm 63.1

Are you in the middle of a desert place right now? Do you have a dehydrated heart?

When our bodies lack water they give off symptoms such as dry mouth, headaches or weak knees. But what are the indicators that our souls are deprived of spiritual water? “Dehydrated hearts send desperate messages. Snarling tempers. Waves of worry. Hopelessness. Sleeplessness. Loneliness. Resentment. Irritability. Insecurity. These are warnings. Symptoms of a dryness deep within.” (Max Lucado in “Come Thirsty”)

What is needed is ‘health by water’ — a refreshing spa for our souls. And it must come from the Source of living water — Jesus Christ! He wants to offer you a transformational Spa so that you, too, might be able to say,  “He turns a desert into a pool of water, dry land into springs of water.” Psalm 107.35

Friend, it really is okay to rest. To linger “beside still waters.” Whether you do it at a Spa or beside a stream, doesn’t really matter.What matters is that you take time away from the demands of the world, and focus on body and soul, possibly even surrounded by a few supportive friends.

spafeet

Here we are in our robes…

“But when your soul is at rest it occupies the throne of your life. Your mind has thoughts of truth and beauty. You desire what is wholesome and good. Your body is   filled with appetites that serve the good and with habits that lead you into excellent living. To remain healthy, our souls need solitude with no agenda, no distractions, no noise. If someone asks you what you did in your ‘time apart’ the correct response should be ‘Nothing.’ Doing nothing does wonders for the soul.”    – John Ortberg in “Soul Keeping”

Did I return REFRESHED? Oh yeah…

under the mercy, Cindy

refreshcover3d©2016 Lucinda Secrest McDowell

excerpted from “Refresh!” by Lucinda Secrest McDowell

Website/Blog www.EncouragingWords.net

NOTE: Did you enjoy this blog? If so, would you consider entering your email in the above right form and subscribing to it by email? I assure you I won’t overload your in-box, but would love to send you these ‘encouraging words’ each Wednesday. Thanks!

This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Doing Nothing in Nothing but a Robe

  1. Betsy West says:

    I really needed this! In the last two weeks I have severely sprained my ankle and broken my wrist! Everyone says I have to rest to heal but I don’t sit or rest well! So maybe I can look at this as kind of a spa day! 😀. Or days!! And be refreshed and see what I can learn while I rest! And THEN treat myself to a real spa day!!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • Betsy! I am so very sorry to hear of your broken wrist and sprained ankle, girlfriend. Yes, you do need to REST. I have a two-page devo on that in “Dwelling Places” call REST! Hopefully you can sit today in that beautiful yard and just be quiet. May you soak in God’s Love and Peace. love ya, Cindy

  2. maggierowe says:

    I needed this today as, like Betsy, I find it hard to sit and be still when I’m aware of how many needs there are at work and church. No weight-bearing for 6-8 weeks is forcing me to slow down, and that can be a good thing. Thanks for these words, Cindy – your annual spa day sounds delightful.

    • Maggie! Thankful foot surgery is over and will pray for your enforced time of rest. Hopefully out in Rowes’ Garden today. It’s never a good time to be off your feet. I broke my leg on Nov. 1, 2002 and it was such a busy time…

Leave a Reply

