Not Forgotten

Not Forgotten

Lucinda Secrest McDowell

She was waiting by the sink in the Ladies Room as I began washing my hands.

“Excuse me,” she interrupted, “But the Lord has given me a word for you.”

What? I was in Colorado Springs for a meeting with my literary agent and publishers. Honestly, it wasn’t going very well and I had escaped our dinner table at the restaurant to have a moment alone. And now this.

forgottenThe stranger continued as I stood there, too startled to speak. “God told me to tell you this: You will not be forgotten.”

I gulped, “Okay. Thanks.”

And then she interjected, “And, oh yeah, something about your stomach. Is there a medical problem? Well, God says that’s going to be okay too.” (Now I was really spooked; and it was years later, in retrospect, that I finally understood that part of her word from God.)

But as she left the tiny room, she turned back with a smile, “Remember, you will not be forgotten!”

I never saw her again.

I also never shared this story. Until now, fifteen years later. It seemed too far-fetched. Too ‘out there.’ Prophecies in bathrooms simply are not part of my normal life – even my spiritual journey.

But I did write it all down in my journal. And I did pray, asking God to show me what, if anything, this was to mean in my life. And that’s when He led me to this verse. “I will not forget you! See, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands.(Isaiah 49:16)

In Scripture, when that promise is made, there are two rather interesting reinforcements, one before and one after. Leading into those words is an illustration that hits close to home. “Can a woman forget her nursing child, fail to pity the child of her womb? Even these may forget, but I won’t forget you.” (Isaiah 49.15) As a mother who raised four children, I cannot even imagine a world where I would forget my nursing baby.

Though I don’t have any tattoos, I have certainly written reminders on my hand in ink, so I wouldn’t forget. Sort of like the second reinforcement in our verse today, “See, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands.” In biblical times a slave would often bear the brand of his master, but here we have the Master inscribing his servant’s name on his hand. As though it is a tangible reminder of the covenant between God and His people.

In order for God to forget us, those scars in the palms of His hands must disappear! And that’s never going to happen, as this old hymn affirms, “My name from the palms of His hands eternity will not erase; Impressed on His heart it remains, in marks of indelible grace. Yes, I to the end shall endure, as sure as the earnest is given; More happy, but not more secure, the glorified spirits in Heaven.” (hymn, “A Debtor to Mercy Alone,” Augustus M. Toplady, 1771)

Do you sometimes feel forgotten?

James I. Packer affirms this wonderful truth: “I am graven on the palms of His hands. I am never out of His mind. All my knowledge of Him depends on His sustained initiative in knowing me. I know Him because He first knew me, and continues to know me. He knows me as a friend. One Who loves me; and there is no moment when His eye is off me, or His attention distracted from me, and no moment, therefore, when His care falters.”

I don’t even need the gift of prophecy to say to you today, “God says you will not be forgotten!”

under the mercy, Cindy

©2016 Lucinda Secrest McDowell

Website/Blog www.EncouragingWords.net

NOTE: Did you enjoy this blog? If so, would you consider entering your email in the above right form and subscribing to it by email? I assure you I won’t overload your in-box, but would love to send you these ‘encouraging words’ each Wednesday. Thanks!

Order my new book  “Dwelling Places” from Amazon HERE

Order my new book  “Dwelling Places” from ChristianBook HERE

And, dear ones, if by any chance you have read this book, please kindly take a few moments to post a short REVIEW on Amazon or ChristianBook. I will love you forever!

 

This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Not Forgotten

  1. Jim Douglas says:

    Amazing story. Thanks for sharing it!

    In that same vein, I recall 30 years ago I was going through a particularly troubling time , and I could see no light at the end of the tunnel. Suddenly one day I had a break through on one item that I had been praying about diligently . I went over to my friend and spiritual mentor David White’s nearby office and shared the answer to prayer. ( Already that answer to prayer had begun to fade as I considered all of the painful issues I had to deal with). When I explained what had happened , he looked at me and said,” We must get on our knees now and make an Ebenezer. Look what God has done, and if we don’t recognize this now , it will be like mist and it will dissipate.”…he was right and I have never forgotten it!

    James O. Douglas
    Partner | ASLA

    HODGSON DOUGLAS
    landscape architecture | planning | urban design
    jdouglas@hodgsondouglas.com | http://www.hodgsondouglas.com

    120 29th Avenue South | Nashville, TN | 37212
    T. 615-327-4447 | F. 615-321-3004

  2. Solo Journey says:

    Beautiful story – it reminds me to listen for the words strangers may be sharing!

  3. Jim Douglas says:

    I don’t think you got this the first time.

    James O. Douglas Partner | ASLA

    HODGSON DOUGLAS landscape architecture | planning | urban design jdouglas@hodgsondouglas.com | http://www.hodgsondouglas.com

    120 29th Avenue South | Nashville, TN | 37212 T. 615-327-4447 | F. 615-321-3004

Leave a Reply

