STILL at Lake Pleasant

STILL at Lake Pleasant

Lucinda Secrest McDowell

The name alone was enough to draw me in – Lake Pleasant. Add the surrounding Adirondack Mountains, clear sparkling water, and late summer sunshine and you have the perfect formula.

For remembering.

STILL COTW

Photo at http://www.Camp-of-the-Woods.org Such a Favorite Place!

More precisely, remembering the stories of my life. Sitting in silence and digging deep into the recesses of memories unfiltered so that each chapter of my very first book would open with an appropriate story. A process that filled me with both dread and delight.

With a looming deadline, I had hastily shuffled all four kids off to summer camp and nestled into a small cabin to write. But each day I sat by the water and listened. To God’s still small whispering voice. Reminding me of the many years of His faithfulness in both my stumbling and successes.

Where can you go to be STILL today? Try this when you get there:

  • S – Sit in silence with open hands. Listen to God with a receptive heart.
  • T – Think back to the many times of His faithfulness through answered prayers
  • I – Identify your current concerns, pain or struggles and offer them to God.
  • L – List the gifts God has provided for you today – thank Him for His graciousness.
  • L – Look forward with hope to what God will continue to do in and through you.

Today, twenty years later, I am sitting by the same lake. The kids are all grown and my twelfth book has just been released. I am in the midst of the privilege of speaking all week words from God’s Word – my most favorite calling. And now I sit in quiet serenity, going through the STILL exercises and realizing how truly blessed I am.

“He leads me beside still waters.” Psalm 23.2 ESV

My heart is full of gratitude.

under the mercy, Cindy

©2016 Lucinda Secrest McDowell

Website/Blog www.EncouragingWords.net

NOTE: Did you enjoy this blog? If so, would you consider entering your email in the above right form and subscribing to it by email? I assure you I won’t overload your in-box, but would love to send you these ‘encouraging words’ each Wednesday. Thanks!

Order my new book  “Dwelling Places” from Amazon HERE

Order my new book  “Dwelling Places” from ChristianBook HERE

Order my new book  “Dwelling Places” from AbingdonPress HERE

And, dear ones, if by any chance you have read this book, please kindly take a few moments to post a short REVIEW on Amazon or ChristianBook. I will love you forever!

This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to STILL at Lake Pleasant

  1. maggierowe says:

    So glad you can minister at Camp of the Woods this week as you have for so many years. What a significant place in your life and that of countless others. I love the STILL acronym. With a fulltime job and fulltime ministry it is so very hard to carve out time to be still, and I need it desperately. Thanks for the thoughtful post as always, Cindy, and may God use you greatly this week.

  2. Mary Jo says:

    What a joy to meet up with you at our favorite place! Thank you for continuing to use your God-given gifts of writing and speaking to encourage us in our walk with our Lord. May our paths cross again sometime soon…under His mercy and filled with His grace.

Leave a Reply

