How to Eat an Artichoke

How to Eat an Artichoke

Lucinda Secrest McDowell

She carefully laid the flowery vegetable on a plate in front of me. I simply stared. Where to begin?

Artichoke“Simply pull off each petal, dipping the end into melted butter and then scrape the soft tender flesh off into your mouth with your slightly clenched teeth. When you reach the heart, scoop out the fuzzy choke with a spoon. That’s where the sweetest taste is,” my eloquent hostess carefully explained.

I was incredulous as I explored this exotic edible. Having just moved to Boston, all I could think was “Wonder what the folks back home in Georgia would think of this?” Who knew such treasures lay inside this prickly (yes, even ugly) plant?

Honey, of all the things author/mentor Elisabeth Elliot taught me, how to eat an artichoke is right up there at the top!

Today one of my favorite recipes is artichoke dip, made with heart of artichoke. I laugh when I remember the adventure of discovery, glad I was game to try anything. And I’m grateful Elisabeth also instilled in me the missionary’s motto: “Where He leads me, I will follow. What He feeds me, I will swallow.” It was an attitude I passed along to my adventurous children.

God is far more creative than we can imagine. After all, He is the one who thought up the anteater, dressed the zebra in black and white stripes, and decided that porcupines were a grand idea. You and I might have kept the world quite monotonous if we played it safe with only the familiar.

“No one’s ever seen or heard anything like this, Never so much as imagined anything quite like it— What God has arranged for those who love him.”  (1 Corinthians 2.9)

But God says we cannot even imagine all He has planned for us. How often are you willing to try something new or daring or exotic? Perhaps now would be a great time to “taste and see the Lord is good.” (Psalm 34.8 NLT)

under the mercy, Cindy

©2016 Lucinda Secrest McDowell

Website/Blog www.EncouragingWords.net

NOTE: Did you enjoy this blog? If so, would you consider entering your email in the above right form and subscribing to it by email? I assure you I won’t overload your in-box, but would love to send you these ‘encouraging words’ each Wednesday. Thanks!

Order my new book  “Dwelling Places” from Amazon HERE

Order my new book  “Dwelling Places” from ChristianBook HERE

Order my new book  “Dwelling Places” from AbingdonPress HERE

And, dear ones, if by any chance you have read this book, please kindly take a few moments to post a short REVIEW on Amazon or ChristianBook. I will love you forever!

This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How to Eat an Artichoke

  1. Betsy West says:

    A fun one to read this morning-yet with a good message!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

