Learning How to Breathe

Learning How to Breathe

Lucinda Secrest McDowell

Yes, the sand in Bermuda really is pink. And the water really is turquoise. And the best way to enjoy both is to snorkel in the sea.

I admit it took me a while to learn to swim with fins and breathe through my mouth into a tube whilst peering through goggles. But once I got the hang of it – bliss!

blogbreatheWonder. Color. Creativity. “So God created the great creatures of the sea and every living thing with which the water teems and that moves about in it.”(Genesis 1.21) All of God’s best handiwork on display right here under the sea. But you can’t appreciate any of it if you are in a hurry.

Snorkeling is a slow activity. Breathe in. Breathe out. Kick and paddle with those fins and reach out to coral and underwater rocks buried deep in the ocean floor.  Eyeball the iridescent Parrot fish and try in vain to count the hundreds of tiny minnows that seem to swim in formation . But take your time.

Breathe deeply and enjoy the moment.

God created these colorful “creatures of the sea” just for us. In the beginning, “darkness covered the ocean, and God’s Spirit (ruach meaning “breath”) was moving over the water.” (Genesis 1.2 NCV) Have you ever noticed that we use the words “breath” and “spirit” in similar ways today? If we say It took my breath away, we don’t literally mean we stopped breathing. It means our spirit was deeply affected. We felt awe or amazement – a strong reaction deep inside our being.

That is similar to how I felt when I finally got comfortable breathing through a tube. Relaxed and yet amazed. Eager to explore more and more of the deep waters God had breathed over just for me.

Is it time for you to slow down and breathe deeply?

under the mercy, Cindy

©2016 Lucinda Secrest McDowell

Website/Blog www.EncouragingWords.net

NOTE: Did you enjoy this blog? If so, would you consider entering your email in the above right form and subscribing to it by email? I assure you I won’t overload your in-box, but would love to send you these ‘encouraging words’ each Wednesday. Thanks!

Order my new book  “Dwelling Places” from Amazon HERE

Order my new book  “Dwelling Places” from ChristianBook HERE

Order my new book  “Dwelling Places” from AbingdonPress HERE

And, dear ones, if by any chance you have read this book, please kindly take a few moments to post a short REVIEW on Amazon or ChristianBook. I will love you forever!

This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Learning How to Breathe

  1. Wise Hearted says:

    One of the best things I ever did was learn to snorkel when we lived in Papua New Guinea. I never got tired of it. First to feel so light in the water was great, then to be able to look at the underworld creation of God, always relaxed me. It is something I have not done since we moved back to the states but God has given me other ways to enjoy nature in southern California.

Leave a Reply

