When Waves Wash It All Away…

When Waves Wash It All Away…

Lucinda Secrest McDowell

Far out to sea the waves began to roll and crash, eventually making it to the sandy beach where I lingered alone. Truly, the ocean is never still. As the wind blows across the waters, energy surges and causes these waves.

I dug my barefoot heel into the wet sand and moved around until the words were written large on the shore. WORRY. WORDS. ME.

These were my concerns of the day. WORRY: I was churning inside over several strategic unresolved issues and relationships, refusing to trust that God could help me. WORDS: There were far too many of them I wished I had never said — hurled like grenades in an argumentative or defensive manner. ME: Ah, now that was my core problem — an unending focus on myself; my needs, my wants, my life. Too self concerned to help others.

wavesI sat on the beach and confessed all three to God, asking desperately to be free of such tendencies. Like King David, I plead,“Wash away my guilt and cleanse me from my sin.” (Psalm 51.2)

And as I opened my eyes, a wave gently poured over all my words and they disappeared. The beach became smooth. As though mercy and grace had simply washed it all away. 

A clean slate. A place to rewrite my life and move forward. Thankful for this sign from nature, I asked God to give me new words. Words of release and renewal. Words of hope and purpose.

Brushing off the sand, I stood up and walked down the beach into a new day.

under the mercy, Cindy

©2016 Lucinda Secrest McDowell
Website/Blog www.EncouragingWords.net
NOTE: Did you enjoy this blog? If so, would you consider entering your email in the above right form and subscribing to it by email? I assure you I won’t overload your in-box, but would love to send you these ‘encouraging words’ each Wednesday. Thanks!
Order “Dwelling Places” from Amazon HERE
Order “Dwelling Places” from ChristianBook HERE
Order “Dwelling Places” from AbingdonPress HERE
And, dear ones, if by any chance you have read this book, please kindly take a few moments to post a short REVIEW on Amazon or ChristianBook. I will love you forever!
This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to When Waves Wash It All Away…

  1. Betsy West says:

    Beautiful! Thankful for the reminder that if we give them to Him, God will take all our worries away!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. jmillero@bellsouth.net says:

    Cindy, I recently received my copy of Dwelling Places. It is beautiful, you inspire me every day! Had to buy a second copy to send to my sister, I am sure she will love it as much I do. Judy Millero

    Sent from my iPad

  3. Deb Haggerty says:

    Beautiful reminder of the power of the Lord to “cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” I needed these words this morning.

  4. Jim Douglas says:

    That was awesome! You definitely got it going on with words girl!

    James O. Douglas
    Partner | ASLA

    HODGSON DOUGLAS
    landscape architecture | planning | urban design
    jdouglas@hodgsondouglas.com | http://www.hodgsondouglas.com

    120 29th Avenue South | Nashville, TN | 37212
    T. 615-327-4447 | F. 615-321-3004

Leave a Reply

