How to Enjoy a Refreshing Summer!

How to Enjoy a Refreshing Summer!

(a Reminder, 2 Winners and a Gift for Everyone)

Lucinda Secrest McDowell

Summer has barely begun and already we are seeing horrific changes in our world. In a turbulent culture full of crisis and upheaval, nothing seems permanent.  But friend, although we seem to be drifting politically, economically and personally, Jesus Christ remains our only secure anchor. He is ever the same – “For I, the Lord, do not change.” (Malachi 3.6)

EnjoyRefreshingSummerHere is the Reminder. Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever!” (Hebrews 13:8)

This is good news for us – fickle people. We tend to change jobs, churches, spouses and even world views as often as we change clothes. How we long for something that lasts – that can be counted on! “How we long to point to something—anything—and say, ‘This works! This is sure!’ But if it is something other than God Himself we are destined for disappointment. There is only one ultimate guarantee. It is the love of Christ. The love of Christ.” (Elisabeth Elliot)

And if you know this love – have this love deep in your heart – you can face the changes that come, without looking back in regret or looking forward in anxiety.

dwelling places - collageOne of my favorite hymns confirms this: In heavenly love abiding, no change my heart shall fear. And safe in such confiding, for nothing changes here. The storm may roar without me, my heart may low be laid, But God is round about me, and can I be dismayed?” (hymn “In Heavenly Love Abiding,” Anna L. Waring, 1850)

I hope you will cling to this wonderful truth as summer unfolds. May God be your forever dwelling place for He will never leave you.

Here are the 2 Winners. And, speaking of “Dwelling Places,” a Huge THANKS to Each One of You who entered the “Refreshing Summer Giveaway”  and blog tour contest sponsored by my publisher Abingdon Press and orchestrated by LitFuse Publicity team (who drew the winning names).

Congratulations to the grand-prize winner, JEAN WILUND!

And also to the second-place winner REBECCA FIELD!

My publicists from Litfuse Publicity Group will be in touch via email with details on how to claim your prizes. You can also email your mailing address to info {at} litfusegroup {dot} com. Congrats!

RefreshingSummerprintabledownload

Here is the Gift for Everyone. But, of course, for me you are All Winners. And so I would love to give you something to help you dwell in God’s peace and calm throughout the Summer and beyond. No surprise, it’s a gift of Encouraging Words from The Word. Just click here for a Free Printable Download.

As you hide these words in your heart, my prayer is that you will enjoy a refreshing summer! 

“I’m in the very presence of God — oh, how REFRESHING it is! I’ve made the Lord God my home.” Psalm 73.28 MSG

under the mercy, Cindy

©2016 Lucinda Secrest McDowell
Website/Blog www.EncouragingWords.net
NOTE: Did you enjoy this blog? If so, would you consider entering your email in the above right form and subscribing to it by email? I assure you I won’t overload your in-box, but would love to send you these ‘encouraging words’ each Wednesday. Thanks!
Order “Dwelling Places” from Amazon HERE
Order “Dwelling Places” from ChristianBook HERE
Order “Dwelling Places” from AbingdonPress HERE
And, dear ones, if by any chance you have read this book, please kindly take a few moments to post a short REVIEW on Amazon or ChristianBook. I will love you forever!
This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How to Enjoy a Refreshing Summer!

  1. jwilund says:

    OH MY!!! I can’t believe I won!!! I’m SO excited!!! I don’t know how to thank you enough. WHOO HOO!!! Can’t wait to enjoy the beautiful gifts!! Thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

