The Sweet Sound of Your Name

The Sweet Sound of Your Name

Lucinda Secrest McDowell

           “Lucinda!” came the call from across the lobby.

            I turned, and saw a woman I greatly admire but didn’t know very well. We hadn’t seen each other for several years. Yet here she was remembering my name.

            My heart sang.

            Daddy taught me the importance of remembering to call people by name, because “the sweetest sound to our ears is our own name.”

            When someone calls you by name, it’s like they are saying, “You matter. You are important to me.”

God declares, “I have called you by name; you are mine.” (Isaiah 43.1)

          BlogName How truly remarkable!  The Creator and Sustainer of the universe knows our name. He not only calls me by name, but He claims me as His own.

            What could be better than that?

            Well, perhaps this. God also knows the names we call ourselves – Loser, Failure, Ugly, Stupid, Worthless. But He loves us too much to allow us to own those names. He looks at us and sees a new name. In Simon He saw the potential and changed his name to Peter, a ‘rock.’ Abram became Abraham, which means ‘father of many’ and his wife Sarai became Sarah, ‘mother of nations.’

            I remember identifying with the name of the little goat in Hannah Hurnard’s allegory “Hind’s Feet on Hight Places.” Her name was ‘Much Afraid’ because she lived in fear of all that she encountered on her journey from the valleys of life to the mountain top of God’s love. One of her most valuable lessons on her arduous climb was to rely on God’s presence with her at all times. When she reached the peaks, her name was changed to ‘Grace and Glory.’

            In the last book of the Bible we read “To the one who overcomes… I will give a white stone, and a new name written on the stone which no one knows but he who receives it.” (Revelation 2.17) One day we will all receive a new name.  

            DwellingPlacesNameWhat do you think your new name will be?

            What would you like it to be?

            Personally I’d like to be known by some combination of these words: peaceful, compassionate, kind, empowering, joyful, wise, serene, gentle, and strong.

             Or perhaps I will be named Light. My actual first name, chosen by my Daddy just because he liked it, is Lucinda, which derives from the word meaning “light.” One could do worse than try to live up to that name.

            Whatever my name – old or new – I’m thankful God knows it. That He recognizes me. And that He calls me His.

under the mercy, Cindy

©2016 Lucinda Secrest McDowell

Surprise! “Dwelling Places” is shipping early – if you pre-order now you can have it by Mother’s Day! (even though the official release day is June 6). And honey, I am praying this prayer by Amy Carmichael — her precious prayer/poems open each section of my new book and you will so love them…

prayershipping

dwellingplacescoverabingdonMy new book Dwelling Places – Words to Live in Every Season by Lucinda Secrest McDowell arrives June 2016 from the good folks at Abingdon Press. Available in Paperback and Hardcover. 
Preorder from Amazon HERE
Preorder from ChristianBook HERE
Preorder from AbingdonPress HERE
Website/Blog www.EncouragingWords.net
NOTE: Did you enjoy this blog? If so, would you consider entering your email in the above right form and subscribing to it by email? I assure you I won’t overload your in-box, but would love to send you these ‘encouraging words’ each Wednesday. Thanks!

 

 

This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Sweet Sound of Your Name

  1. maggierowe says:

    Oh little goat, I identify with you too, only I would like to change my name permanently from Much Afraid to Grace & Glory. Thanks for another thoughtful post, Cindy.

Leave a Reply

