Why Kindness Matters

 Why Kindness Matters

Lucinda Secrest McDowell

I bought the little wooden sign impulsively – in fact it seemed to jump off the shelf into my hands – “Be Kinder than Necessary.”kindnesssign

A few days later I understood why.

I was unkind to someone I care about. Not intentionally, of course. Just a careless word blurted out in a too-harsh tone. But the damage was done.

Fortunately, because the person is full of grace, we were reconciled when I reached out and asked forgiveness. But I was left with a deep, deep desire to somehow pursue Kindness as my default reaction to…. well, everything!

My word for 2016 is Kindness.

kindnessheart*First, I want to give the Author of Kindness praise and gratitude: “I will tell of the KINDNESS of the Lord, the deeds for which He is to be praised, according to all the Lord has done for us.” Isaiah 63.7

*Secondly, I want to clothe myself in Kindness: “We put no stumbling block in anyone’s path, so that our ministry will not be discredited. Rather, as servants of God we commend ourselves in every way… in purity, understanding, patience and KINDNESS.” 2 Corinthians 6.3-4,6

*Finally, my prayer sisters reminded me that perhaps this year I also need to learn how to receive the Lord’s Kindness offered to me: “I led them with cords of human KINDNESS, with ties of love. To them I was like one who lifts a little child to the cheek, and I bent down to feed them.” Hosea 11.4

kindnessbattleScottish pastor John Watson, writing under the pen name Ian Maclaren, once wisely wrote “Be kind. Everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.” 

What hard battles are you facing today? Will you receive the Lord’s great kindness extended to you? And then pass it along?

For the past few months I have wondered long and hard what my word for the year would be. There seemed to be several candidates marinating in my heart and mind, but last week God clearly lifted up this word – Kindness.

And now I pray that I can live this word…

under the mercy, Cindy

kindnesscotwbench

©2016 Lucinda Secrest McDowell

dwellingplacescoverabingdonYou might enjoy my upcoming book Dwelling Places – Words to Live in Every Season by Lucinda Secrest McDowell, Abingdon Press, June 2016. Available in Paperback and Hardcover.

Preorder from Amazon HERE

Preorder from ChristianBook HERE

Preorder from AbingdonPress HERE

Website/Blog www.EncouragingWords.net
NOTE: Did you enjoy this blog? If so, would you consider entering your email in the above right form and subscribing to it by email? I assure you I won’t overload your in-box, but would love to send you these ‘encouraging words’ each Wednesday. Thanks!
This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why Kindness Matters

  1. Sarah says:

    Beautiful Cindy. I join your challenge. I want to be kinder. Ever since I read about the gal who wrote a whole book on kindness in the home (am drawing a blank on her name right now but you prob know who I am talking about), I have seen my own lack of kindness. Thanks for your words.

Leave a Reply

