Honey, Worry Can Strangle Your Soul

Honey, Worry Can Strangle Your Soul

Lucinda Secrest McDowell

Leave all your worries with Him, because He cares for you. 1 Peter 5.7 

worryhitchhikerWhen I arrived home from the conference Sunday evening, I realized a hitchhiker had accompanied me in the door.

His name was Worry.

At once he set to work bringing up all those things that had conveniently been dormant while I had focused on an enjoyable weekend of ministry. One by one, people and circumstances – ‘what ifs’ and ‘if onlys’ – popped into my mind and got me to thinking.

And worrying.

I might as well have just snatched back from God everything (and everyone) I had ever entrusted to Him. I might as well have emailed all those women to just forget what I had taught them, because by now even I wasn’t buying it.

I had retrieved those worries and I was planning to carry them – drag them – along into my new week. Oh yeah, that hitchhiker had already settled in to my home and heart quite comfortably.

worryheadhandsMy grandmother used to say that “Worry is a lot like a rocking chair. It gives you something to do, but you don’t get anywhere.”

Actually worry causes regress, not progress. Experts say that most of what we spend time worrying about never actually comes to pass. Think of all that time and energy spent worrying, now lost to us forever.

I, for one, do not have any time or energy to waste that way.

I’m also not prepared to pay the price of holding on to my worries. “Just from a medical perspective, living in a constant state of anxiety, worry, or fear can cause all kinds of irritability and frustration, mood swings, depression, and decreased mental function.”

I’d rather do what this verse says– “Leave all your worries with Him.”  Why? “Because He cares for you.”

worrycrossGod wants to carry our burdens. God wants to assure us that He has everything under control and we can leave all concerns in His care. Dr. Richard Swenson says, “God is not pacing the throne room anxious and depressed because of the condition of the world. He knows, He is not surprised, and He is sovereign.”

Some of us excuse our worrying by saying that it’s just our nature to do so. Nothing could be farther from the truth – we make a choice to worry.

Not only that, the root words for ‘worry’ are rather violent. The Old English derivation is wyrgan, which means to strangle. This term later evolved into worien, which meant grabbing another creature by the throat with your teeth and shaking it to death. Okay.

Author Christin Ditchfield explains, “When we worry, that’s what we do. We deliberately ignore God’s admonishment to take every thought captive (2 Corinthians 10.5), not be anxious and trust Him…Instead, we latch on to a bunch of negative thoughts. We grab them with our teeth and refuse to let go of them. We churn. We toss and turn. We shake them this way and that. From a distance it looks like we’re strangling them. But the truth is, they’re strangling us.”

Kick that hitchhiker out of your heart and home!

worrypathWill you leave every person, every circumstance, every concern at the foot of the Cross and draw near to the One who cares for you and me?

 “Father, thank you for providing for my every need. Thank you that I don’t have to spend my days consumed with worry; I can be consumed with You. No need enters my life for which you have not already planned and provided. I choose to keep anxiety from cluttering my heart, and instead let it be filled with You. Amen.”  (Jennifer Kennedy Dean)

under the mercy, Cindy

~ Excerpted from Day 32 in “Live These Words” by Lucinda Secrest McDowell3d cover live these words
 ©2015 Lucinda Secrest McDowell
Website/Blog www.EncouragingWords.net
Amazon author site amazon.com/author/lucindasecrestmcdowell 
NOTE: Did you enjoy this blog? If so, would you consider entering your email in the above right form and subscribing to it by email? I assure you I won’t overload your in-box, but would love to send you these ‘encouraging words’ each Wednesday. Thanks!
This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Honey, Worry Can Strangle Your Soul

  1. maggierowe says:

    I’ve given that old hitchhiker a ride one too many times but boy he’s hard to kick out of the vehicle. thanks for these good reminders, Cindy.

Leave a Reply

