Beyond the Birthday Candles…

 Beyond the Birthday Candles…

by Lucinda Secrest McDowell

cindyat5

My 5th Birthday

This week is my birthday and I’m feeling many different emotions: Grateful (thankful for every single day of life); Relieved (wow, I made it this far); Bewildered (how could I possibly be ‘that number’ when I feel so young inside); Contemplative (strong desire to make the most of time); and Expectant (excited about what the next year holds).

“No eye has seen, no ear has heard, and no mind has imagined
what God has prepared for those who love Him.” 
I Corinthians 2.9 NLT

Birthdays and other significant milestones cause us to reflect, don’t they? Both on what was and what will be. So during my birthday month I plan to spend some quiet time with my journal,  answering these 12 questions. Perhaps you’d like to join me?cindyatcake

  1. What one area in my life needs the most change __________________ and what will I do about it?
  2. What one thing will I pray for this year that seems impossible __________________, knowing that “nothing is impossible with God?”
  3. Where do I waste time ______________________ and how can I avoid that?
  4. cindyat19

    My 19th Birthday (with little cousin Ashley)

    What is one important thing I could do to improve the quality of my family relationships this year _______________________?

  5. What’s the most strategic decision I need to make this year __________________?
  6. What’s one thing I could do this year to enrich my spiritual legacy to my children and grands ______________________?
  7. What’s an important financial goal this year ______________________ and how will I meet it?
  8. What’s an important trip I need or want to take this year ____________________________?
  9. Which spiritual discipline will I intentionally pursue this year ___________________________ and how?
  10. What new skill do I plan to learn this year _______________________?
  11. cindyat60

    Still Celebrating Life!

    How will I care for my soul this year (daily)______________________ (periodically) _____________________?

  12. What is my biggest regret about last year _____________________ and how can this year be different?

As much as I like to reminisce and remember former ages and stages, I plan to focus beyond the birthday candles.  Your cake may not have as many candles on it as mine does, but I assure you we are both given the same amount of hours each day. As a Gift. To spend however we choose. How will we choose?

During this birthday season I’m intentionally asking God for His presence, peace and yes, perseverence to make whatever days ahead are given me the most fruitful ever!

Happy Birthday indeed!

“Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.” (Isaiah 43.18-19)

under the mercy, Cindy

 ©2015 Lucinda Secrest McDowell
Website/Blog www.EncouragingWords.net
Amazon author site amazon.com/author/lucindasecrestmcdowell 
NOTE: Did you enjoy this blog? If so, would you consider entering your email in the above right form and subscribing to it by email? I assure you I won’t overload your in-box, but would love to send you these ‘encouraging words’ each Wednesday. Thanks!

 

 

 

This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Beyond the Birthday Candles…

  1. Justine says:

    Dear Cindy, Happy Birthday beautiful lady!

    Your blog today reflects exactly what I have been feeling- and praying about. What does God want me to change, impact and affect those I know and those that I don’t with the resources given to me? He has revealed a few things, but I know that more direction will come.

    I pray that you have a very special birthday, celebrating wonderful YOU! Blessings always, Justine

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Diane Street says:

    Dear Cindy,
    May you have a very Happy and Blessed Birthday Month!
    Always enjoy your encouraging words on Wednesdays.
    Loved your latest book, “Live These Words.” I used it as a springboard to do a further scripture study on each of the words you shared as part of my devotions.
    Thank you for sharing what the Lord puts on your heart.
    With Joy,
    Diane

  3. Michael McDowell says:

    Happy, joyous, and blessed birthday to my wonderful and loving wife. God grant you many, many years! With love, congratulations and best wishes to you in the coming year! Glad I can celebrate with you, Mike

  4. Julie Church says:

    Hi Cindy. Happy Birthday to a fellow Gemini — I believe I had shared with you at one time that my birthday is on the 24th. I could truly relate to that Isaiah passage as I’ve been trying to “spring ahead” w/my life. Blessings. Julie Church

  5. terri corliss says:

    Loved reading your website!
    YOU are such a blessing & such a gifted writer…

  6. Paula Whitaker says:

    Happy Blessed Birthday Cindy,
    I truly enjoy your birthday blog how to look at life in such away. We are truly blessed to have a wonderful Savior to watch over us. What a great idea to celebrate the entire month birthday celebration. I have to admit I too am turning 60 this year my celebration is the entire year eee,
    we do something every month to celebrate it is such fun an a blessing to be able to celebrate.
    I still take care of my sick love ones this is just a little fun thing I am doing I have never been it’s about me at all. You what truly this is a lot of fun work to be all about “me”. The year celebrations ends on New Year’s Eve I have no idea what to do I am sure God will direct me He has done a wonderful job thus far. Happy Joyous Birthday:)
    Paula
    PS I meant you at Singing Hills this pass fall at the quilting retreat:) enjoyed your book Quilts from Heaven.

Leave a Reply

