Especially for the Mama You Love

Especially for the Mama You Love

by Lucinda Secrest McDowell

mamachild

Sarah Frances Hasty

This week we especially remember with gratitude our own mothers and we who are mothers and spiritual mothers also thank God for that great privilege and honor.  Isn’t it wonderful that God often used motherhood as a symbol for Himself in scripture?

God reminded us that He too is compassionate and comforting like a mother:
As a mother comforts her child, so will I comfort you – Isaiah 66:13.
God reminded us that He knows us the same as each mother knows her child and that He, like she, will never forget us…
Can a mother forget the baby at her breast and have no compassion on the child she has borne? Though she may forget, I will not forget you! Isaiah 49:15

mamaold

Sarah Hasty Secrest

King David compared his refuge in God’s care as the same feeling of safety and serenity in a mother’s arms:
But I have calmed and quieted myself, I am like a weaned child with its mother; like a weaned child I am content. Psalm 131:2
Jesus compared himself to a mother who longed to gather her children:
How often I have longed to gather your children together, as a hen gathers her chicks under her wings… Matthew 23:37

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“Dear God, now that I am no longer young, I have friends whose mothers have passed away. I have heard these sons and daughters say they never fully appreciated their mothers until it was too late to tell them.

mamacindyold

Lucinda Lee Secrest with her Mama. “Mama tried…”

I am blessed with a dear mother who is still alive. I appreciate her more each day. My mother does not change, but I do. As I grow older and wiser, I realize what an extraordinary person she is. How sad that I am unable to speak these words in her presence, but they flow easily from my pen.

How does a daughter begin to thank her mother for life itself? For the love, patience and just plain hard work that go into raising a child? For running after a toddler, for understanding a moody teenager, for tolerating a college student who knows everything? For waiting for the day when a daughter realizes how wise her mother really is?

mamacindy

Mama’s 87th Birthday last May – she has a Mother’s Day Birthday!

How does a grown woman thank a mother for continuing to mother? For being ready with advice (when asked) or remaining silent when it is most appreciated? For not saying, “I told you so,” when she could have uttered those words dozens of times? For being essentially herself — loving, thoughtful, patient and forgiving?

I don’t know how, dear God, except to ask you to bless her as richly as she deserves — and to help me live up to the example she has set. I pray that I will look as good in the eyes of my children as my mother looks in mine. Amen.”     — written by an anonymous daughter 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Loving Father, we also pray for those for whom Mother’s Day is a time of heartache rather than celebration…

emptyswing

      *We pray for those who have never known their mother or whose mothers have died.
Heavenly Father, bless them with your love
       *We pray for those who long to be mothers but as yet have not had their own children.

Heavenly Father, bless them with your love
       *We pray for those who struggle with the way their children have chosen to live their lives.

Heavenly Father, bless them with your love
        *We pray for those who have a difficult relationship with their mother.
Heavenly Father, bless them with your love                                                                             May they have the comfort of knowing that your love for them is constant, your understanding is perfect, your compassion is never-ending. Amen

mama4girls

Look out Beach….the Secrest gals are on their way!

Remember…. for Mothers, love is spelled T.I.M.E. so go spend some time with yours. My crazy sisters and I are headed down south to do just that with our sweet Mama later this month!

under the mercy, Cindy

©2015 Lucinda Secrest McDowell

Website/Blog www.EncouragingWords.net
Amazon author site amazon.com/author/lucindasecrestmcdowell 
NOTE: Did you enjoy this blog? If so, would you consider entering your email in the above right form and subscribing to it by email? I assure you I won’t overload your in-box, but would love to send you these ‘encouraging words’ each Wednesday. Thanks!

 

This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Especially for the Mama You Love

  1. Marilyn Bullock says:

    Thanks for your words of encouragement. I am so thankful for Spiritual Mothers God has given me.

  2. Me too, Marilyn. May you have a blessed weekend!

  3. Michael McDowell says:

    Wow! What a beautiful and inspiring tribute mothers and spiritual mothers as well! I am grateful for my mother Yvonne now departed this life in Christ and Sarah Secrest my fabulous mother-in-law. I am thankful for you Cindy . . . a mother extraordinaire! God grant you many, many years! I am so blessed.

  4. maggierowe says:

    What a wonderful tribute to your beautiful mama, Cindy, and to all moms everywhere. I sent Mike a copy of your final prayer for possible use on Sunday. You are right that for moms, love is spelled TIME.

Leave a Reply

