The Day I Decided to Keep Writing

 The Day I Decided to Keep Writing

by Lucinda Secrest McDowell

auumnleavestypewriter“I’m not impressed and won’t be sending this manuscript to any publisher. Honestly, no one wants this book, so you may as well start over on something else,” my literary agent said during our appointment at the annual booksellers convention.

I was shattered.

I knew about rejections. I had begun my career writing for magazines and had thick files of rejection letters which had only spurred me on to try the next publisher. But now, as an established book author, I was discouraged. Why not just quit? It’s not like anyone would miss a book I haven’t even written!

writingairportYet, I had always tried to live the words “Commit everything you do to the Lord. Trust Him, and He will help you.” (Psalm 37.5) So, as I trudged through the airport in the wee hours of the next morning I silently offered all my writing back to God – praying for guidance and provision.

I even managed to be friendly to the weary traveler in the next chair. Even before I found out she was an editor at a large publishing house.

“I’m just curious, as you leave the convention, was there one book idea you had hoped to find from an author?” I said in my most timid manner.

books-and-tea“Well, my boss was interested in something that addresses the whole baby-boomers-reaching-middle-age idea. We think that might find a good audience,” she replied.

Did I hear her correctly? Had she really just regretted not being offered something on the very subject of the book proposal now gathering dust in my briefcase?

“Uh, well, I happen to have a book proposal on that very subject. Would you be willing to look it over and see if it might fit your needs?” I stammered.

30 ways cover The startled editor graciously took my manuscript. One year later that new book was published. (find out more about this book “30 Ways to Embrace Life – Wise Women Share Their Secrets”)

From absolute rejection to acceptance in a series of events that could only have been orchestrated by God!

What does it mean to commit everything we do to the Lord?

This simple act of relinquishment means to entrust or put in charge. It also involves the harder internal process of being willing to accept a possible ‘no’ or being redirected on a different path.

launchstorymattersI often think back to that very low point in my writing career.

What if I had continued to pout and retreat to a corner seat, ignoring everyone around me? What if I had simply taken my agent’s advice or stopped writing?

Instead, I chose to prayerfully continue to commit everything to God – the One who called me to write in the first place – and know that He would indeed help me. Life is too short to invest in work that doesn’t have God’s hand all over it. Can I truly surrender all to Him?

launchroundtoptypewriterThat’s the place where He wants me to be.

Lord, I believe in You: increase my faith. I trust in You: strengthen my trust. I love You: let me love You more and more… Guide me by Your wisdom, correct me with Your justice, comfort me with Your mercy, protect me with Your power.  I offer You, Lord, my thoughts: to be fixed on You; my words: to have You for their theme; my actions: to reflect my love for You…. I want to do what You ask of me: in the way You ask, for as long as You ask, because You ask it. Amen.” (Clement  95 AD) *

bensonwriterquote

under the mercy, Cindy

writerbewriting*selected from Day 17 in “Live These Words” by Lucinda Secrest McDowell ©2014

 ©2014 Lucinda Secrest McDowell  EncouragingWords.net

 NOTE: Did you enjoy this blog? If so, would you consider entering your email in the above right form and subscribing to it by email? I assure you I won’t overload your in-box, but would love to send you these ‘encouraging words’ each Wednesday. Thanks!

This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Day I Decided to Keep Writing

  1. jim douglas says:

    great story Lucinda Lee! So inspiring!

  2. Anne Hawes says:

    So thankful that you continued to write!

  3. rjbritton says:

    Ahhh! I needed to read this. Guess the enemy is trying to fill me with doubts right before I pack my bags in preparation for the New England Christian Writer’s Retreat.

  4. Jim and Anne, thanks for your kind words about this story and that you like my writing. I’m so grateful that when we are most discouraged, God radically intervenes in our lives to send us a blessing. Of course, we have a part in that too — must always keep reaching out…

  5. Rachel, the enemy of our souls is hard at work in most of us to discourage us from taking pro active steps towards using our creativity to make a difference for the Kingdom. I have certainly felt this intense pressure in anticipation of teaching at the Writers Retreat this weekend, (why do you think I posted this blog today?) but I am determined “He Will Not Win!” I will also not give in to discouragement or that deadly cousin ‘comparison’… God is doing a work in and through you, using gifts He gave you and which you continue to hone… And we are part of your support team and writing community. So when you drive up on Friday, sing at the top of your lungs “Our God is an Awesome God. He Reigns …..etc.”
    preachings over….

Leave a Reply

