Every Mama and Daddy Can Do This!

 An Amazing Thing Every Mama and Daddy Can Do!

by Lucinda Secrest McDowell

jesus-loves-meThree years ago today, at the end of my eulogy I sang “Jesus Loves Me” to the entire congregation. And I’m not a singer.

Yet it seemed to be the perfect way to end my litany of Daddy’s legacy of love to me. You see, my earthly father’s love for me paved the way for me to understand and embrace the love of God my heavenly Father.

This Sunday our congregation sang all three verses of “Jesus Loves Me” to support the day’s text from I John 4.16 God is love.”    

daddythreegirls (2)The connection was a smile from God.

Because, while I still miss Daddy every day, and while death anniversaries are always bittersweet, I smile because I once again realize the impact a parent can have on a child. Mamas and Daddies can literally love their children into the Kingdom.

How do we do that? How did my own father and mother do it?

I heard “I love you” from them every single day! But I experienced the results of their love even more than that:

  • The small (and big) times of literally laying aside their own desires and needs in order to give us a special experience or opportunity.
  • Putting family memory-making times together above other priorities, knowing that “things” end, but moments can be relived time and time again.
daddyandcindy1970 001

Daddy and Me 1970

Daddy believed in me. Even now as a seasoned adult I still hear his voice in my ear when the insecurities or doubts rise…. “You can do it, Cindy. With God’s help you can do just about anything!” He was a great encourager, not just to his own children, but to everyone he met.

Are you a Mama or a Daddy, a Granny or a Granddad?

Do you know that assuring your children and your grands of your unconditional love is a great gift? As they receive the byproducts of your love – the security, the compassion, the encouragement – they learn how to trust, an important step on the journey of faith.

jesusgirlinarms Do you feel inadequate as a parent?

Even those of us who shower love on our children let them down at times. But if we have invested in helping point them to God, then they know where to turn when the world has been cruel –  to the One who will never leave them.

And that’s why I ended my funeral Tribute with these words…. “One night when I was almost two years old Daddy set up his elaborate reel to reel tape recorder, stuck a microphone in my little face and I, of course, began to sing: ‘Jesus Loves me, this I know. For the, for the, …what for the, Daddy?’ Loud stage whisper – ‘for the Bible’  Little Cindy continues singing ‘for the Bible tells me so.’  You will be delighted to know that I have now mastered all the lyrics to that song, but far more importantly I have spent a lifetime living the truth behind them because of Daddy. (Then I sang “Jesus Loves Me”)  I Love You Daddy!”

justthinkinatage2ofallthemischief

Little Cindy singing “Jesus Loves Me”

READ my whole TRIBUTE here (August 2011) 

Today will you go to your nearest friend, colleague, child, spouse, or parent and express your love, your encouragement, your support to them in your life? Make sure they know that God’s love in you is what spurs you on each day.

Who are you going to love towards the Kingdom this August?

We love because God loved us first. But if we say we love God and don’t love each other, we are liars. We cannot see God. So how can we love God, if we don’t love the people we can see? The commandment that God has given us is: “Love God and love each other!” (I John 4.19-21 CEV)

under the mercy, Cindy

 NOTE: Did you enjoy this blog? If so, would you consider entering your email in the above right form and subscribing to it by email? I assure you I won’t overload your in-box, but would love to send you these ‘encouraging words’ as I post them. Thanks!

©2014 Lucinda Secrest McDowell  www.EncouragingWords.net

Amazon author site amazon.com/author/lucindasecrestmcdowell 

This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Every Mama and Daddy Can Do This!

  1. Marty and Betsy West says:

    This is wonderful!!! So encouraging to young parents in particular!

  2. maggierowe says:

    What a lasting legacy your Daddy left you – and what fun to see these pictures of you (and your sisters) through the years!

  3. Heidi Chiavaroli says:

    Beautiful! Thank you so much for this–very timely for me. 🙂

  4. Thank you, Betsy, for your encouragement, pass along to your kids! Maggie, thanks for your comment too and for always enjoying my family. And Heidi, I am grateful that these ‘encouraging words’ were what you needed to hear today. See you in October… love Cindy

Leave a Reply

