Come…

One Year Later…

by Lucinda Secrest McDowell

cindymtmeadows13

July 2013 – Remembering the stories…. researching… birthing a book…

Whoever invented the phrase “the wind rustling through the leaves” obviously sat on this screen porch in these woods. The breeze is so cool, the leaves are dancing, the birds are singing, and I am remembering one year ago when I sat right here and asked God to guide my writing of a new book.

Last summer while house/pet sitting for dear friends, I spent hours just listening – remembering stories, researching prayers and biographies and biblical teaching so that I would have enough chapters to submit to potential publishers. My desire was to write a devotional focusing on key biblical words that encourage action.

At that time I had the 40 words and needed everything else.

This summer? On the same porch, attended by rustling leaves, I hold the published book in my hand – “Live These Words.” In the short span of a year, God has fulfilled my dream and “established the works of my hands.”

The first chapter, “Come,” speaks of that time:

“There at “Mountain Meadows” I settled into an antique wicker chaise on the screen porch which beckoned me during each morning cup of coffee. As I sat back and listened to the singing birds, the chirping cicada and occasional patter of raindrops, I was content.

I was ‘with God.’

pigletandpooh

..her tattoo was this exact illustration…

Just like Piglet in “Winnie the Pooh” as he seeks his dearest friend.

Piglet sidled up to Pooh from behind. “Pooh?” he whispered.
“Yes, Piglet?”
“Nothing,” said Piglet, taking Pooh’s hand. “I just wanted to be sure of you.”

Do you need to just ‘be sure’ of Jesus? Then, get right next to Him.” *

Isn’t this always the first step towards spiritual growth – to get next to Jesus? Recently I was speaking in New Jersey and mentioned this illustration. In the audience was a visitor who had never been to a women’s retreat. After hearing my mention of Piglet and Pooh, she came up to me and pushed up her pants leg to reveal a colorful tattoo.

It was an ink replica from the “Winnie the Pooh” classic storybook illustration of when Piglet sidles up to Pooh “just to be sure of you.” And my words that night (of all the children’s books I could have mentioned) were a clear confirmation of God calling and wooing her to Himself. By the end of the weekend, she had responded in faith.

When we take time for God, He meets us in surprising ways. So this morning as I feel the breeze through the screen, I know that the Holy Spirit has continued to blow through my life since I last sat in this antique chaise.

mikemtmeadows14

July 2014 – (same porch) My husband now reading the completed devotional – “Live These Words”

What are your dreams, hopes, visions and desires this summer? Will you pray and seek God’s face? Ask Him to reveal to you … what? A new path? A new sense of His love and acceptance? A new “kick in the pants” to take the plunge of faith?

Why not set apart a time somewhere to simply be in God’s presence —   marking a specific time on your calendar to explore a quiet place? Whatever you do, just enter in to your time with an open heart to receive God’s love. Come with open ears to hear His voice and come with open hands to carry back all you have gained. Just come….

“Father, I exult in the free, confident access You have provided so that I can come into Your Presence for warm fellowship, for refreshment, for mercy when I’ve failed, for grace when I’m in need. What a joy to know that I can draw near to You at any moment, wherever I may be…that I can come boldly to Your throne of grace, assured of Your glad welcome. Thank You that I can ‘be still’ and know that You are God… that You are in control… and that I can restfully depend upon You and absorb Your strength and joy and peace. To think that You not only permit me to come before You but You actually desire my fellowship, my worship, my prayers and my eternal presence! Thank You. Amen.” – Ruth Myers (1928-2010)*

cometommeadowsAs you pray this prayer, be prepared for what can happen in a year’s time. For me, those rustling leaves sound a lot like trees “clapping their hands.”

God did it. The applause of Heaven…

under the mercy, Cindy

 NOTE: Did you enjoy this blog? If so, would you consider entering your email in the above left form and subscribing to it by email? I assure you I won’t overload your in-box, but would love to send you these ‘encouraging words’ as I post them. Thanks!

©2014 Lucinda Secrest McDowell

www.EncouragingWords.net

 

*selections from “Live These Words” by Lucinda Secrest McDowell ©2014 Lucinda Secrest McDowell

This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Come…

  1. Diane Street says:

    Praising the Lord with you, Cindy, for your newest book.
    Looking forward to getting a copy to encourage me to keep moving forward in “faith with deeds.” God Bless you and your ministry,
    Diane Street

  2. jeannedoyon says:

    Sweet words of encouragement. Thank you, Cindy

  3. Thanks, Jeanne, for your kind comments. I so missed seeing you last Thursday night. Please let me know when/if you are ever down this way for coffee….

Leave a Reply

